PLEINS FEUX SUR LES ÉMISSIONS DES MOTEURS DIESEL

Webinaire à venir et fardeau des cancers professionnels

Le 5 juin 2018, nous tiendrons un webinaire sur l’exposition aux émissions des moteurs diesel en milieu de travail au Canada en collaboration avec l’Occupational Cancer Research Centre (OCRC) et le groupe de travail sur les émissions de moteur diesel du Occupational Disease Action Plan (ODAP) de l’Ontario. Le webinaire soulignera l’importance des émissions de moteur diesel en tant que risque dans le milieu de travail et traitera des façons d’évaluer et de contrôler ce risque. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter notre page d’inscription.

Selon une nouvelle publication de l’étude sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels, environ 2,4% des cancers du poumon au Canada étaient attribuables à l’exposition aux émissions de moteur diesel sur les lieux de travail en 2011. Cela équivaut à près de 560 cancers du poumon chaque année. Les résultats indiquent que les professions présentant le plus gros fardeau sont les mineurs de fond, les camionneurs et les mécaniciens. Les estimations des expositions professionnelles de CAREX Canada, selon lesquelles environ 897 000 Canadiens sont exposés au diesel dans leurs lieux de travail, ont été utilisées pour produire les estimations du fardeau. La publication est disponible ici. Des fiches de renseignements sur les estimations et d’autres résultats sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels se trouvent ici.

NOUVELLES DE L’ÉQUIPE

Renouvellement et nouvelle nomination

L’équipe de CAREX est heureuse d’annoncer que le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer a reconduit notre financement pour une autre période de quatre ans. Nous nous réjouissons à la perspective de continuer à établir et à mobiliser des estimations sur les expositions des Canadiens à des carcinogènes, ainsi qu’à influencer sur la politique de prévention et la modification des pratiques.

Nous sommes également ravis d’annoncer que Dre Cheryl Peters, notre co-chercheure principale, a été nommée chercheuse scientifique au Alberta Health Services Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention Research department et professeure agrégée adjointe à la Cumming School of Medicine (oncologie et sciences de la santé communautaire) à l’Université de Calgary. Dans le cadre de ses nouvelles fonctions, Dre Peters concevra un programme de recherche visant à cerner les causes connues et nouvelles du cancer dans les lieux de travail et les collectivités tout en poursuivant ses travaux avec CAREX Canada. On trouvera sa biographie complète à la page L’équipe.

MISE À JOUR DES RESSOURCES

Mises à jour des estimations concernant la silice et le travail par postes, nouveau profil pour le furane

Nous avons récemment mis à jour nos estimations du niveau d’exposition professionnelle pour la silice cristalline. Nos nouveaux résultats, fondés sur des milliers de nouvelles mesures prises au sein de l’industrie de la construction, révèlent que la majorité des travailleurs canadiens exposés à la silice ont des niveaux d’exposition élevés, 237 000 environ sur 380 000 personnes exposées. L’exposition à la silice est courante dans l’industrie de la construction. Cette substance est présente notamment dans le ciment, la brique, les abrasifs et les matériaux de sablage. On doit s’en préoccuper lorsque des produits en contenant sont perturbés au cours d’opérations de broyage, coupage, forage ou concassage, car ces opérations créent de la poussière que peuvent inhaler les travailleurs.

Autres mises à jour du site Web :

NOUVELLES DE NOS PARTENAIRES

Bande dessinée sur le cancer à l’intention des jeunes Autochtones

À la demande d’un de nos partenaires autochtones, la Première Nation Mississauga, la bande dessinée « Silent Enemy » (Ennemi silencieux) a été créée afin de sensibiliser les jeunes au cancer. Elle raconte l’histoire d’une famille dont le père reçoit un diagnostic de cancer, de son traitement et son rétablissement. Le Healthy Aboriginal Network et la Programmes pour les peuples autochtones de l’Action Cancer Ontario ont conçu la bande dessinée en collaboration avec la First Nations Health Authority  et CAREX Canada.

La bande dessinée est disponible en ligne ici. Veuillez nous envoyer un courriel si vous souhaitez recevoir une version imprimée.

NOUVELLES PUBLICATIONS

Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques au Canada, fardeau économique de l’exposition au rayonnement solaire en milieu de travail

Ce mois-ci, nous présentons deux publications parues dans notre Bulletin Actualités cancérogènes :

  • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a publié son Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques pour 2018, qui examine les émissions de 17 polluants atmosphériques aux niveaux national, provincial et territorial, dont un certain nombre de carcinogènes connus ou présumés tels que les matières particulaires, les HAP, le plomb, le cadmium et les composés organiques volatils. Les résultats indiquent qu’en général, la qualité de l’air continue de s’améliorer du fait d’une diminution des émissions de polluants atmosphériques issus des secteurs industriel et des transports. La publication est disponible ici.
  • Une nouvelle publication de l’étude sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels révèle que le fardeau économique des cancers professionnels de la peau sans mélanome attribuables à l’exposition au rayonnement solaire au Canada s’établit à environ 28,9 millions de dollars en coûts directs et indirects et à 5,7 millions de dollars en coûts intangibles. Environ 2 800 (5 %) des nouveaux cas de carcinome basocellulaire et 1 700 (9 %) des nouveaux cas de carcinome squameux sont attribuables à l’exposition professionnelle au rayonnement solaire en 2011. La publication est disponible ici.

Le lecteur trouvera d’autres articles et rapports à la page Actualités cancérogènes. Pour vous abonner à ce bulletin, consultez la page d’inscription.

Please note that the CAREX Canada e-Bulletin is now a bi-annual digest. For more regular communications from us, please subscribe to Carcinogens in the News, a monthly digest of media articles, government reports, and academic literature related to the carcinogens we’ve classified as important for surveillance in Canada.

Abonnez-vous à nos bulletins

L'équipe CAREX Canada offre deux bulletins réguliers: le Bulletin électronique semestriel résumant les informations sur nos prochains webinaires, les nouvelles publications et mises à jour des estimations et des outils; et le Bulletin des actualités cancérogènes, un condensé mensuel des articles de presse, des rapports gouvernementaux, et de la littérature académique relative aux substances cancérigènes que nous avons classé comme important pour la surveillance au Canada. Inscrivez-vous à un de ces bulletins, ou les deux, ci-dessous.

CAREX Canada

School of Population and Public Health

Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Campus de Vancouver
2206 East Mall, bureau 370A
Vancouver, C.-B. V6T 1Z3​
CANADA

© 2022 CAREX Canada

SPOTLIGHT ON DIESEL ENGINE EXHAUST

Upcoming webinar and burden of workplace cancer

On June 5th, 2018, we’re hosting a webinar on exposure to diesel engine exhaust in Canadian workplaces in partnership with the Occupational Cancer Research Centre (OCRC) and Ontario’s Occupational Disease Action Plan (ODAP) Working Group on Diesel Exhaust. The webinar will convey the importance of diesel exhaust as a workplace hazard and discuss the ways it can be assessed and controlled. For more information, visit our registration page.

Approximately 2.4% of lung cancers in Canada were attributable to occupational diesel engine exhaust exposure in 2011, according to a new publication from the Burden of Occupational Cancer Study. This corresponds to an estimated 560 lung cancers each year. Results show that occupations with the highest burden include underground miners, truck drivers, and mechanics. CAREX Canada’s occupational exposure estimates, which show that approximately 897,000 Canadians are exposed to diesel engine exhaust at work, were used to produce these burden estimates. The publication is available here, and fact sheets on these and other burden of occupational cancer results are available here.

TEAM UPDATES

Renewal and new appointment

The CAREX team is pleased to announce that we’ve been re-funded by the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer for another four years of work. We look forward to continuing our efforts to develop and mobilize estimates of Canadians’ exposures to carcinogens, to influence prevention policy and practice change.

We are also pleased to announce that our Co-Principal Investigator Dr. Cheryl Peters has a new appointment as Research Scientist at the Alberta Health Services Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention Research department and Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Cumming School of Medicine (Oncology and Community Health Sciences) at the University of Calgary. In her new role, Dr. Peters will build a program of research to investigate known and emerging causes of cancer in workplace and community environments, while continuing her work with CAREX Canada. Her full biography can be found on Our Team page.

UPDATING RESOURCES

Updated occupational estimates for silica and shiftwork, new profile for furan

We recently updated our occupational exposure level estimates for crystalline silica. Our new results, which incorporated thousands of updated measurements taken in the construction industry, showed that a majority of workers exposed to silica in Canada have high exposure levels – approximately 237,000 out of 380,000 workers exposed. Silica is a common exposure in the construction industry, where it can be found in cement, brick, abrasives, sandblasting materials, and more. Exposure concerns arise when products containing silica are disturbed by grinding, cutting, drilling, or chipping, as these tasks create dust that workers may inhale.

Other updates to the website include:

  • Updated occupational exposure estimates for shiftwork, which revealed that approximately 1.8 million Canadians worked shifts that fell between midnight and 5am in 2011, a decrease of about 100,000 from 2006.
  • new profile on furan, an organic compound used in chemical manufacturing. Furan can be found at low levels in some heat-treated beverages and foods such as coffee, and canned or jarred foods.

PARTNER UPDATE

Comic on cancer education for First Nations youth

At the request of one of our First Nations community partners, the Mississauga First Nation, the comic book “Silent Enemy” was designed to provide education and awareness to youth about cancer. It follows a family through their father’s lung cancer diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. The Healthy Aboriginal Network and Cancer Care Ontario’s Aboriginal Cancer Control Unit created the comic, in partnership with the First Nations Health Authority and CAREX Canada.

The comic is available online here. Please email us if you’d like to receive a printed version.

COMMUNICATIONS UPDATE

Canadian Air Pollutant Inventory, economic burden of workplace sun exposure

This month, we’re featuring two new publications that appeared in our Carcinogens in the News digest:

  • Environment and Climate Change Canada has released their 2018 Air Pollutant Emission Inventory, which looks at emissions of 17 air pollutants at the national and provincial/territorial levels, including a number of known or suspected carcinogens such as particulate matter, PAHs, lead, cadmium, and volatile organic compounds. Results show that overall, Canada’s air quality continues to improve, with reductions of some pollutants from transportation and industrial emissions. The publication is available here.
  • A new publication from the Burden of Occupational Cancer Study shows that the economic burden of occupational non-melanoma skin cancer due to solar radiation exposure in Canada is approximately $28.9 million for direct and indirect costs, and $5.7 million for intangible costs. Approximately 2,800 (5%) of newly diagnosed cases of basal cell carcinoma and 1,700 (9%) of newly diagnosed cases of squamous cell carcinoma were attributable to occupational solar radiation exposure in 2011. The publication is available here.

Please note that the CAREX Canada e-Bulletin is now a bi-annual digest. For more regular communications from us, please subscribe to Carcinogens in the News, a monthly digest of media articles, government reports, and academic literature related to the carcinogens we’ve classified as important for surveillance in Canada.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The CAREX Canada team offers two regular newsletters: the biannual e-Bulletin summarizing information on upcoming webinars, new publications, and updates to estimates and tools; and the monthly Carcinogens in the News, a digest of media articles, government reports, and academic literature related to the carcinogens we’ve classified as important for surveillance in Canada. Sign up for one or both of these newsletters below.

CAREX Canada

Faculty of Health Sciences

Simon Fraser University
Harbour Centre Campus
2602 - 515 West Hastings St
Vancouver, BC  V6B 5K3
CANADA

© 2019 CAREX Canada